2011 – Year of the Cinema

I don’t like New Year’s Resolutions. I never have. However quite early on in 2011, I realised if my cinema attendance habits matched those of last year, I could no longer call myself a film fan. So, 2011 would be the year I would not let every decent release pass me by. Or at least the year I made more effort.  In fact, I’m sure I can count the films I did see at the cinema in 2010 on two hands, resulting in me feeling rather clueless when it came to the obligatory end-of-year lists. So much so, it led to a rather lengthy online order, most of which is still towering in front of me.

Whether they’re light-hearted fun (Drew Barrymore’s Whip It, Nancy Meyer’s It’s Complicated) or more seriously toned (Hansen-Love’s Father of my Children and Scorcese’s Shutter Island), they all have one thing in common; I didn’t see them. There are some which would have been far better suited to the darkened cinema than my bedroom, where distractions abound. Kick Ass, Scott Pilgrim, even the dank Alice in Wonderland might have been more exciting in 3D. And I’m not even an advocate for 3D.

Having gotten off to a fairly good start, I have certainly rekindled my love for the peaceful two hours dedicated to cinematic pleasures. The first of those pleasures being Colin Firth in The King’s Speech, and when it comes to Firth, the small-screen just won’t cut it. However resentful it is to pay between £8-10, there really is nothing more satisfying than the perfect film environment, free from distraction, the pause button, and Facebook. And so following my last outing, to see Rowan Joffe’s admirable Brighton Rock adaptation, 2011 will continue to be Year of the Cinema….as well as Year of the 2010 Catch Up.

2 Comments

Filed under 2010 Catch Up, New Releases

2 responses to “2011 – Year of the Cinema

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. newsromantics

    Alice in Wonderland wasn’t any good. Your new blog is good though. I’ve been messing around with themes: http://jc86.tumblr.com/ x

Leave a Reply

